Skip to Content
Watch BCTV Now
/ Articles / Sports & Recreation /

Albright Holds Annual Awards Banquet

May 10, 2017 • by Albright College
Albright College 2016-17 Athletic Awards Winners

The Albright athletics department held its annual Awards Banquet on Monday, May 8 at Stokesay Castle. Along with honoring the top student-athletes, special awards were handed out to the best and the brightest for the 2016-17 academic and athletic year.

Three-time all-conference and 1,000-point scorer Shannon Thomas earned the Abram Karlip Outstanding Senior Female Award, and 19-time All-MAC men’s swimmer Ken Richardson earned the award on the men’s side.

The other award winners are:

• Outstanding Freshman Female Athlete Award – Mara Trifoi, Women’s Tennis

• Outstanding Freshman Male Athlete Award – Teag Culver, Men’s Swimming

• Neal Harris Academic Excellence Award – Madalyn Greth, Volleyball; Ken Richardson, Men’s Swimming/Men’s Tennis

• SAAC Sportsmanship Award – Hayley Joyce, Women’s Lacrosse; Derek Stump, Men’s Lacrosse

• Red and White Award – Emily Sousa, Women’s Soccer; Tom Vazzana, Men’s Basketball

• NCAA Woman of the Year Award – Meghan O’Brien, Women’s Soccer

• Memorial Prize of the Class of 1926 – Suzanne Kuhrmann, Women’s Soccer; Johnni Cassano, Football

• Eugene Shirk Award – Perrin Ryal, Cross Country/Track & Field; William Garay Montero, Cross Country/Track & Field

• Derek Kehoe Memorial Award – JaVaughn Patterson, Football

• Abram Karlip Outstanding Senior Female – Shannon Thomas, Women’s Basketball

• Abram Karlip Outstanding Senior Male – Ken Richardson, Men’s Swimming/Men’s Tennis

We need your support!

Your contribution makes community media possible.

A donation of any size to your nonprofit media organization supports the future of media access in our community - the things you love, and the places you care about, by the people you know.

Live Streaming