Skip to Content
Watch BCTV Now
/ Articles / Sports & Recreation /

Sipling Named All-ECAC First Team

Dec 02, 2017 • by Alvernia University
Kristen Sipling

Danbury, Conn. (Nov. 29, 2017) – Alvernia University senior Kristen Sipling was named All-ECAC First Team by the Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC).

This is the first All-ECAC honor for Sipling who enjoyed a record-setting senior season for the Golden Wolves She was also named  AVCA All-American honorable mention, AVCA All-Region First Team, and All-MAC Commonwealth First Team.

The 5-9 outside hitter became Alvernia’s career leader in kills in the final match of the regular season.  She finished her career with 1,321 kills. She also crushed the single season kills record, passing the previous mark of 397 kills in just the 21st match of the season.

Sipling finished the regular season ranked third in Division III in total kills after leading the country for much of the first part of the season.

Alvernia advanced to the MAC Commonwealth Championships as the #5 seed and knocked off #4 Messiah in the play-in game before a 3-0 loss at top-seeded Stevenson.  It was the first playoff appearance for Alvernia since 2007.

The Golden Wolves followed that with their first invitation to the Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) Championship since 2004, but fell to John Jay in the opening round, 3-0.

ECAC Division III Women’s Volleyball Awards and All-ECAC Selections

Offensive Player of the Year

Annika Schwartz – Stevenson University, Sr., OH

Defensive Player of the Year

Kate Isaksen – Clarkson University, So., L

Rookie of the Year

Steph Judkins – Cabrini University, Fr., OH

Coach of the Year

Kim Kelly– Carnegie Mellon University

All-ECAC First Team

Lauren Mueller – Carnegie Mellon University, Jr., OH

Annika Schwartz – Stevenson University, Sr., OH

Eliza Donohue – Carnegie Mellon University, Sr., MB

Kristen Sipling – Alvernia University, Sr., OH

Steph Judkins – Cabrini University, Fr., OH

Caitlyn Floyd – Ithaca College, So., S

Kate Isaksen – Clarkson University, So., L

All-ECAC Honorable Mention*

Gabby Savite – DeSales University, Jr., OH

Larysa Iwaskiw – Ramapo College, Sr., OH

Lexie Yoho – Westminster College, Sr., MH

Sara Ridgway – Kean University, Sr., MH

Shannon Hubert – Muhlenberg College, Jr., S

Olivia Blankenbiller – Cabrini University, Fr., S

Julia Bradford – DeSales University, Fr., S 

Sue Riley – Rutgers University- Newark, Sr., L

Kayla Yew – Carnegie Mellon University, So., OH/DS

*Additional Players Added Due to Ties in Voting

We need your support!

Your contribution makes community media possible.

A donation of any size to your nonprofit media organization supports the future of media access in our community - the things you love, and the places you care about, by the people you know.

Watch BCTV Live