Skip to Content
Watch BCTV Now
/ Articles / Sports & Recreation /

Gabriele and Ridgeway Honored as 2018 KU Senior Athletes of the Year

May 01, 2018 • by Kutztown University
2018 KU Senior Athletes of the Year

KUTZTOWN, Pa. – Kutztown University women’s lacrosse player Sarah Gabriele and men’s basketball player Ethan Ridgeway were honored as the 2018 Senior Athletes of the Year on April 26 at KU’s annual All-Sports Celebration, held at Schaeffer Auditorium.

Gabriele is the first women’s lacrosse player to receive this honored in its 26-year history while Ridgeway becomes the first men’s basketball player to win the award since Stephen Dennis in 2010.

Gabriele owns nearly every offensive record for the Kutztown women’s lacrosse program as the school-record holder for both points and goals in a season and career. The York Catholic-prep is a two-time All-PSAC selection, earning Third Team honors in 2016 and Second Team honors in 2017.

Gabriele was a 2017 team captain and will complete her career as the all-time leading scorer in goals (173), assists (57) and total points (230) at KU.

Ridgeway, a team captain, completed his career in Maroon and Gold with an outstanding senior season, posting a career-high 17.4 ppg and dishing out a Division II-leading 8.2 apg. The West Chester-native secured his second consecutive First Team All-PSAC East selection, was a 2017 All-Region player, and was named the 2018 Lehigh Valley Small College Basketball Media Organization’s Player of the Year.

Ridgeway finishes his career as the school-record holder for assists in a game (16), season (260) and career (687), ranking third all-time in PSAC history and fourth among active Div. II career-assist leaders. Ridgeway tallied 1,271 career points, 13th all-time at KU, and his 374 made free-throws rank third all-time.

Male Senior Athlete of the Year

Year Winner

1993 Andy Breault, Football

1994 Kevin Berg, Soccer

Bert Lange, Track & Field

1995 Howie Cuff, XC/Track

1996 John Mobley, Football

1997 Darrien Peoples, Football

1998 Denauld Brown, Football

1999 John Rozich, Baseball

2000 Steve Fitch, Baseball

2001 Stan Haraczka, Baseball

2002 Paul Schmitt, Track & Field

2003 Shaun Landis, Track & Field

2004 Jeff Brickus, Basketball

2005 Bilal Salaam, Basketball

2006 Michael Baldwin, Football

2007 Ryan Loper, Baseball

2008 Steve Tyson, Track and Field

2009 Dave Ben, Basketball

2010 Stephen Dennis, Basketball

2011 John Paukovits, Wrestling

2012 Shayne Houck, Baseball

2013 Kevin Morton, Football

2014 Evan Yenolevich, Wrestling

2015 Ziad Haddad, Wrestling

2016 Matt Martoccio, Wrestling

2017 Jordan Morgan, Football

2018 Ethan Ridgeway, Basketball

Female Senior Athlete of the Year

Year Winner

1993 Cyndi Wasilius, Basketball

1994 Cindy Bixler, Tennis

1995 Jen Schock, Softball

1996 Lorie Erie, Softball

1997 Robin Avery, Basketball

1998 Tara Crozier, Track & Field

1999 Amy Wahl, Basketball

2000 Angie Rideout, Volleyball/Track

2001 Brianne Homyak, Basketball/Softball

2002 Megan Seefeldt, Cross Country/Track

2003 Kellie Evans, Softball

2004 Niya Adams, Cross Country/Track

2005 Lauren Tatro, Soccer

2006 Alison Maurer, Track & Field

2007 Sarah Brandon, Volleyball

2008 Ashley Singer, Swimming

2009 Steph Denlinger, Softball

2010 Steph Jeppesen, Swimming

2011 Melissa McQuade, Basketball

2012 Jordan Shapiro, Swimming

2013 April Doyle, Track & Field

2014 Erin Reynolds, Field Hockey

2015 Sam Costello, Soccer

2016 Anna Behm, Field Hockey

2017 Alaina Curry, Soccer

2018 Sarah Gabriele, Lacrosse

We need your support!

Your contribution makes community media possible.

A donation of any size to your nonprofit media organization supports the future of media access in our community - the things you love, and the places you care about, by the people you know.

Watch BCTV Live