Skip to Content
Watch BCTV Now
/ Articles / Sports & Recreation /

Royals Announce 2018-19 Schedule

May 16, 2018 • by The Reading Royals
Reading Royals

The Reading Royals, ECHL affiliate of the Philadelphia Flyers, announced Tuesday the team’s schedule for the 2018-19 regular season, starting with a weekend set at Santander Arena vs. the Worcester Railers on Sat., Oct. 13 at 7:00 p.m. and Sun., Oct. 14 at 5:00 p.m.

The home schedule consists of ten Friday contests and 13 premier Saturday games. Season ticket packages and nine, 12 and 18-game mini plans are available by calling 610-898-7825.

Season Highlights

Opening Weekend Bonanza: The home festivities begin with a special pregame Block Party and red carpet presentation on Sat., Oct. 13th vs. Worcester. Reading posted a 24-10-2-0 record at Santander Arena last season, best in the North Division and fifth-best in team history.

American Cancer Society games: The Royals have partnered with the American Cancer Society for three games this season. Men’s Cancer Awareness Night (Movember) is Sat., Nov. 10 vs. Adirondack at 7:00 p.m. Pink in the Rink Night takes place Sat., Feb. 9 vs. Brampton at 7:00 p.m. Finally, American Cancer Society Night is Sat., Mar. 23 vs. St. John’s at 7:00 p.m.

Quick facts: Longest home stand: 5 games (Mar. 22-30)  | Longest road trip: 6 games (Mar. 1-10) | Number of “3-in-3s”: 5 | Number of  games vs. North Division: 51

New teams: Fans at Santander Arena will have multiple opportunities to see the ECHL’s two newest teams – Maine (4 home games) and St. John’s (7). The Royals host St. John’s the most of any team next season and the teams combine to play 11 games. Maine and Reading see each other eight times in 2018-19. The Royals and Allen Americans will meet for the first time ever at Santander Arena in a three-game series from Dec. 14-16. Reading travels to face Allen twice in February.

Familiar foes: The Royals host rival Adirondack five times in 2018-19. Wheeling (4) and Worcester (3) each come for a handful of contests. Wheeling has realigned to the ECHL’s Central Division. The Royals play Adirondack 12 times, the most of any team. 

Already eyeing revenge: Reading seeks revenge against Manchester in the Royals’ first game against the Monarchs since the 2018 Kelly Cup Playoffs on Sat., Oct. 20. The first home game against Manchester is Wed., Jan. 16.

Down the stretch: Eight of the Royals’ final 11 games are at Santander Arena.

2018-19 Home Schedule (All times EST)

October: 7 games, 4 home games

Sat., Oct. 13 vs. Worcester, 7:00 p.m.

Sun., Oct. 14 vs. Worcester, 5:00 p.m.

Fri., Oct. 19 at Maine, 7:15 p.m.

Sat., Oct. 20 at Manchester, 6:00 p.m.

Wed., Oct. 24 vs. St. John’s, 7:00 p.m.

Sat., Oct. 27 vs. Wheeling, 7:00 p.m.

Sun., Oct. 28 vs. Wheeling, 4:00 p.m.

November: 13 games, 6 home games

Fri., Nov. 2 at Maine, 7:15 p.m.

Sat., Nov. 3 at Manchester, 6:00 p.m.

Wed., Nov. 7 vs. Maine, 7:00 p.m.

Fri., Nov. 9 at Adirondack, 7:00 p.m.

Sat., Nov. 10 vs. Adirondack, 7:00 p.m.

Wed., Nov. 14 at Worcester, 10:00 a.m.

Fri., Nov. 16 vs. St. John’s, 7:00 p.m.

Sat., Nov. 17 vs. St. John’s, 7:00 p.m.

Wed., Nov. 21 at Wheeling, 7:05 p.m.

Fri., Nov. 23 vs. Adirondack, 7:00 p.m.

Sat., Nov. 24 at Adirondack, 7:05 p.m.

Wed., Nov. 28 at Maine, 7:00 p.m.

Fri., Nov. 30 vs. Kalamazoo, 7:00 p.m.

December: 11 games, 5 home games

Sat., Dec. 1 at Adirondack, 7:00 p.m.

Fri., Dec. 7 at St. John’s, 5:30 p.m.

Sat., Dec. 8 at St. John’s, 5:30 p.m.

Fri., Dec. 14 vs. Allen, 7:00 p.m.

Sat., Dec. 15 vs. Allen, 7:00 p.m.

Sun., Dec. 16 vs. Allen, 5:00 p.m.

Fri., Dec. 21 at Manchester, 7:00 p.m.

Sat., Dec. 22 at Worcester, 7:05 p.m.

Fri., Dec. 28 vs. St. John’s, 7:00 p.m.

Sat., Dec. 29 vs. St. John’s, 7:00 p.m.

Mon., Dec. 31 at Wheeling, 6:05 p.m.

January: 10 games, 6 home games

Fri., Jan. 4 vs. Norfolk, 7:00 p.m.

Sat., Jan. 5 at Manchester, 6:00 p.m.

Wed., Jan. 9 vs. Adirondack, 7:00 p.m.

Fri., Jan. 11 at Manchester, 7:00 p.m.

Sat., Jan. 12 at Worcester, 7:05 p.m.

Wed., Jan. 16 vs. Manchester, 7:00 p.m.

Fri., Jan. 18 vs. Brampton, 7:00 p.m.

Sat., Jan. 19 vs. Wheeling, 7:00 p.m.

Sat., Jan. 26 at Wheeling, 7:05 p.m.

Wed., Jan. 30 vs. Maine, 7:00 p.m.

February: 14 games, 6 home games

Fri., Feb. 1 at Adirondack, 7:00 p.m.

Sat. Feb. 2 vs. Manchester, 7:00 p.m.

Sun., Feb. 3 vs. Manchester, TBD

Wed., Feb. 6 at Norfolk, 7:00 p.m.

Fri., Feb. 8 at Norfolk, 7:00 p.m.

Sat., Feb. 9 vs. Brampton, 7:00 p.m.

Mon., Feb. 11 vs. Brampton, TBD

Wed., Feb. 13 at Wheeling, 7:05 p.m.

Sat., Feb. 16 at Allen, 8:05 p.m.

Sun., Feb. 17 at Allen, 5:05 p.m.

Wed., Feb. 20 vs. Maine, 7:00 p.m.

Fri., Feb. 22 at Manchester, 7:00 p.m.

Sat., Feb. 23 at Adirondack, 7:00 p.m.

Sun., Feb. 24 vs. Adirondack, 4:00 p.m.

March: 14 games, 8 home games

Fri., Mar. 1 at Norfolk, 7:00 p.m.

Sat., Mar. 2 at Norfolk, 7:00 p.m.

Tues., Mar. 5 at St. John’s, 5:30 p.m.

Wed., Mar. 6 at St. John’s, 5:30 p.m.

Sat., Mar. 9 at Brampton., 4:00 p.m.

Sun., Mar. 10 at Brampton, 2:00 p.m.

Fri., Mar. 15 vs. Indy, 7:00 p.m.

Sat., Mar. 16 vs. Indy, 7:00 p.m.

Sun., Mar. 17 at Adirondack, 3:00 p.m.

Fri., Mar. 22 vs. St. John’s, 7:00 p.m.

Sat., Mar. 23 vs. St. John’s, 7:00 p.m.

Sun., Mar. 24 vs. Worcester, 4:00 p.m.

Fri., Mar. 29 vs. Maine, 7:00 p.m.

Sat., Mar. 30 vs. Wheeling, 7:00 p.m.

April: 3 games, 1 home game

Wed., Apr 3 at Maine, 7:00 p.m.

Fri., Apr. 5 at Adirondack, 7:00 p.m.

Sat., Apr. 6 vs. Adirondack, 7:00 p.m.

We need your support!

Your contribution makes community media possible.

A donation of any size to your nonprofit media organization supports the future of media access in our community - the things you love, and the places you know, by the people you care about.

Watch BCTV Live