Skip to Content
/ Articles / Government /

County Commissioners Association of PA Announces Graduates from its Academy for Excellence in County Government

Nov 30, 2018

The County Commissioners Association of Pennsylvania (CCAP) Academy for Excellence in County Government recently graduated 22 county officials from its program during ceremonies at CCAP’s Fall Conference in Hershey.

The Academy is a certificate training program specifically designed for county commissioners, council members, county executives, administrators and assistant administrators, chief clerks and assistant chief clerks, solicitors and assistant solicitors, and their equivalents in home rule counties. Participants complete required courses in leadership, management and decision-making; county legal issues; today’s trends in county government; county functions and responsibilities; county financial management; risk management; personnel and labor relations; personal development; and, also attain elective credits by attending courses covering a wide range of relevant topics.

CCAP and the Academy are committed to training informed and responsible public officials to give Pennsylvania’s counties the leadership needed to deal with the challenges of today’s county government. Since its inception in 1996, more than 150 county officials have graduated from the voluntary program.

The 2018 graduates include Kevin S. Barnhardt, Berks County commissioner; Gary Bender, Schuylkill County administrator; Kevin Boozel, Butler County commissioner; Thomas Chernisky, Cambria County commissioner; Bruce Erb, Blair County commissioner; Kimberly Geyer, Butler County commissioner; Todd Graybill, Juniata County commissioner; Alan M. Hall, Susquehanna County commissioner; Ed Heasley, Clarion County commissioner; Benjamin Kafferlin, Warren County commissioner; R. Jack McKernan, Lycoming County commissioner; Rick Mirabito, Lycoming County commissioner; Molly Mudd, Adams County solicitor; Steve Nevada, Franklin County Assistant County administrator; Leslie Osche, Butler County commissioner; Matthew Quesenberry, Sr., Elk County commissioner; Christine Sadler, Berks County solicitor; Helen P. Schmitt, Blair County administrator; Michelle Shedden, Bradford County chief clerk; Jeffrey Snyder, Clinton County commissioner; Theodore Tharan, Clarion County commissioner; and Francis Weiderspahn, Jr., Crawford County commissioner.

We need your support!

Your contribution makes community media possible.

A donation of any size to your nonprofit media organization supports the future of media access in our community - the things you love, and the places you care about, by the people you know.

Live Streaming