Skip to Content
/ Articles / Business & Economy, Education /

RACC President Dr. Susan D. Looney to Receive Paragon Award for New Presidents

Feb 11, 2019

Jackson, Mississippi — Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society (PTK) will recognize 25 college presidents with the Paragon Award for New Presidents during PTK Catalyst 2019, the Society’s annual convention, April 4-6 in Orlando, Florida.

Reading Area Community College President Susan D. Looney, J.D, Ed.D., who began her presidency in July 2018, will be honored among those receiving this prestigious award.

The Paragon Awards are given to new college presidents who have shown strong support of student success by recognizing academic achievement, leadership, and service among high-achieving students at their college. Recipients were nominated for the award by the students on their campus. PTK students have a 91 percent student success rate, and research has shown that strong presidential leadership and support of PTK increases member success and the depth of their college experience.

The Paragon Award for New Presidents marks a special accomplishment for Dr. Looney. “I am completely humbled to be honored by PTK, an organization that has meant so much to me over the course of my community college career,” says Dr. Looney. She has received a Paragon Award when a PTK student and again when she was a PTK advisor.

Dr. Looney joined RACC in 2014 as dean of instruction and was appointed to senior vice president of academic affairs/provost in 2015.

The Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society recognizes academic achievement of community college students and provides opportunities for them to grow as scholars and leaders.

We need your support!

Your contribution makes community media possible.

A donation of any size to your nonprofit media organization supports the future of media access in our community - the things you love, and the places you care about, by the people you know.

Live Streaming