Skip to Content
/ Articles / Health & Wellness /

Homefront program for those who care for service members or veterans

By NAMI

Jul 06, 2020

NAMI National has released the upcoming schedule for the 6-week online course, NAMI Homefront. NAMI Homefront is for family members and friends who care for service members or veterans. NAMI Homefront is not a course for service members, professionals or those who run a veteran organization WITHOUT the family member/close friend connection to the service member or veteran. There is not charge to participants for this course.

Below is the information to register and course dates. Please note the time zone for each class when registering.

Eastern Evening: August 3 – September 14 (Skip 9/7)
Mondays, 6:30 – 8:30 pm EST (5:30pm CST, 4:30pm MST, 3:30pm PST)

Eastern Daytime: August 4 – September 8
Tuesdays, 10:00 am – 12:00 pm EST
 (9:00am CST, 8:00am MST, 7:00am PST)

Pacific Evening: August 4 – September 8
Tuesdays,  6:30pm – 8:30 pm PST
 (7:30pm MST, 8:30 pm CST, 9:30 pm EST)

Central Evening: August 5 – September 9
Wednesdays, 6:30 – 8:30 pm CST
 (5:30pm MST, 4:30pm PST, 7:30pm EST)

NAMI Homefront is a free, 6-session program for family, friends and significant others of military Service Members and Veterans. The class helps families understand what the Service Member/ Veteran is experiencing related to trauma, combat stress, civilian life transition, PTSD and other mental health conditions.

The program is designed to help family members understand and support their Service Member/Veteran while maintaining their own well-being. NAMI Homefront leaders have personal experience with mental health conditions impacting their Service Member/ Veteran. The class is free but you are expected to attend all six sessions. You must have access to a laptop, PC or tablet with a stable internet connection to participate. To hear audio, you will need to call in via telephone. We recommend you use a headset or headphones.

An application process is required to ensure this program is a good fit. Space is limited.

CLICK HERE TO REGISTER

We need your support!

Your contribution makes community media possible.

A donation of any size to your nonprofit media organization supports the future of media access in our community - the things you love, and the places you care about, by the people you know.

Live Streaming