Skip to the content

KU Radio Wins Best Station Promo at Annual Broadcasting Awards

by Kutztown University

KU Radio Wins Best Station Promo at Annual Broadcasting Awards

Kutztown University Radio (KUR) won for Best Station Promo at the 82nd Annual Intercollegiate Broadcasting System Conference. KUR was nominated for seven categories and finished runner-up for six other categories. The conference awards colleges and universities in recognition of exceptional programming and student radio stations on the national level.

Student Jenna Foley won Best Station Promo and KUR was a direct runner-up in each of the six other categories. Those included Best Campus/Community News (students Abigayle Regensburger and James Zipprodt), Best Community Outreach Event (Regensburger and Zipprodt), Best Live Promotional Event (Regensburger and Zipprodt), Best Sports Play-by-Play (students Noah Pegler and Josh Tuite), Best Talk Program (students Jared Yashura and Andrew Zammetti) and Best Program Director (student program director Nicholas Zearfoss).

For the first time ever in KUR history, two students were nominated three times for one broadcast (the Pridefest Recap), as well as having one student, Pegler, nominated multiple times over the past few years for Best Sports Broadcasting.

Revived in 2005 from the remnants WRKU, KU’s longtime student radio station, KUR is staffed by more than 50 Kutztown University students. For schedules, shows and events, follow KUR1670 on Facebook and Instagram. To listen to KUR’s award-winning content, tune in by searching Kutztown University Radio on Spotify, on the 1670 AM radio frequency or visit for more information.