Skip to the content

Boyertown Museum of Historic Vehicles Opening Reception to Celebrate New Exhibit Space

by The Boyertown Museum of Historic Vehicles

Boyertown Museum of Historic Vehicles Opening Reception to Celebrate New Exhibit Space

The Boyertown Museum of Historic Vehicles is excited to announce the official opening of its newest exhibit space, formally dubbed the Carriage Barn. This gallery features unique and exciting examples of horse-drawn vehicles, many of which have never been on display at the Museum. These examples include a durable Skeleton Break used to break, train, and exercise carriage horses, a Hansom Cab – a closed carriage referred to as the most popular cab in London, and an extravagant Bavarian State Coach used to convey royalty or high officials during official business. Also on display in the gallery is the Museum’s Two Horse Hearse, which has been moved from the Museum’s main floor to a place of prominence in the Carriage Barn.

Over the past several years the Boyertown Museum has worked hard to improve its facilities – inside and out – to both enhance the visitor experience and better protect the cherished pieces of transportation history on display. The Carriage Barn is the newest upgrade to the Museum’s facilities.

The Carriage Barn will be celebrated with an opening reception on Saturday, Dec. 16, from 5 p.m. to 6:30 p.m. Visitors will have full access to the Museum’s historic collection. Docents will be on hand to answer questions about the vehicles and provide insight into the rare horse-drawn examples on display. Visitors will also have the opportunity to watch live blacksmithing demonstrations in the original Jeremiah Swinehart Carriage Factory, which is part of the Museum’s galleries and is open to the public daily. Tickets for this event are $10 for Museum members, $15 for non-members and may be purchased at the door.

The Boyertown Museum of Historic Vehicles is a 501c3 nonprofit organization founded in 1965 by Paul and Erminie Hafer. The Museum, located at 85 S. Walnut St., Boyertown, preserves and displays examples of Pennsylvania’s road transportation history in the former factory buildings of the Boyertown Auto Body Works. Over 90 locally manufactured cars, trucks, carriages, bicycles, and motorcycles are on display, as well as two examples of roadside architecture-a 1921 cottage-style Sunoco gas station and a 1938 Jerry O’Mahony diner. The Museum is open seven days a week, 9:30 a.m. – 4 p.m. Admission is $10 for adults, $9 for seniors and AAA members, and ages 15 and under are free. For more information, call 610-367-2090 or visit www.boyertownmuseum.org.