Skip to the content

Royals Announce 2024 Protected List

Royals Announce 2024 Protected List

by Reading Royals

The Reading Royals, proud ECHL affiliate of the Philadelphia Flyers and Lehigh Valley Phantoms, announced the team’s 2024 protected list. Reading has retained the rights to 22 players, 18 of which skated for the Royals in the 2023-24 season. Royals365 season memberships, group, and flex tickets are now available for the team’s 23rd season by calling 610-898-7825 and visiting

Forwards (14): Tag Bertuzzi, Jake Bricknell, Brian Bowen, Ryan Cox, Tyson Fawcett, Steven Leonard, Austin Master, Connor McMenamin, Yvan Mongo, Joseph Nardi, Max Newton, Devon Paliani, Shane Sellar, and Jake Smith.

Defensemen (8): Adam Brubacher, Mike Chen, Powell Connor, Ryan Cook, Dominic Cormier, Ryan Devine, Tyler Heidt, and Kenny Johnson.

Teams are allowed to protect as many players as they wish, provided the players protected meet the guidelines as defined in the Collective Bargaining Agreement between the ECHL and the Professional Hockey Players’ Association, which state that teams shall retain the rights to each player that:

  1. Signed an SPC in 2023-24 with the member and has not been traded or released, or
  2. Signed an SPC in 2023-24, and was recalled to the NHL/AHL or IIHF team, and has not been traded or released, or
  3. Had received a qualifying offer last summer for the current season, did not sign an SPC, and has not been traded or released, or
  4. Has been suspended by the member or league and has not been traded or released, or
  5. Signed an SPC on or after the first day of the 2023-24 regular season, then subsequently signed an NHL/AHL contract, and has not been traded or released, or
  6. Has executed the ECHL retirement form and has not been traded or released.

Protected lists may exceed 20 players.

The ECHL also announced that teams must complete all future consideration trades by 3 p.m. ET on June 20 and that teams must submit their season-ending roster by 3 p.m. ET on June 22.

Season-ending rosters may include up to 20 players and cannot include any players who did not sign an ECHL contract in 2023-24.