Skip to Content
/ Articles / Education /

Local Students Awarded KU Scholarships from Kutztown Optimist Club

by Kutztown University

May 23, 2019

KUTZTOWN, PA – Kutztown University President Dr. Kenneth S. Hawkinson hosted the Kutztown Optimist Club and guests for the annual presentation of the Kutztown Fools’ Run Scholarships last Thursday night, May 16. Eight promising and deserving students from high schools in northeast Berks County received scholarships from the Kutztown Area Optimist Club to attend KU in the fall.

The scholarships are generated through proceeds from the Kutztown Fools’ Run. The event features a 10-mile and 5K run and a two-mile walk, and has generated more than $250,000 in scholarships since its inception in 1989.

Pictured (L-to-R): Front Row: Kimberly Wetzel, Fleetwood Area; Alyssa Romoho, Hamburg Area; McKenzie Barlet, Kutztown Area; Jenna Rothrock, Brandywine Heights. Back Row: Dr. Kenneth S. Hawkinson, Kutztown University President; Zachery Brintzenhoff, Fleetwood Area; Dane Fegely, Kutztown Area; Davis Stoudt, Brandywine Heights; Michael Boyer, Fleetwood Area; Scott O’Neil, Kutztown Optimist Club.

We need your support!

Your contribution makes community media possible.

A donation of any size to your nonprofit media organization supports the future of media access in our community - the things you love, and the places you care about, by the people you know.

Live Streaming