Skip to Content
Watch BCTV Now
/ Articles / Education /

Penn State Extension offers webinar series on home and recreational topics

By Penn State Extension

May 12, 2020

With warm weather on the horizon, many families are looking for fun and productive ways to spend time together indoors and outdoors.

A new Penn State Extension webinar series can help those families explore new hobbies, improve their properties, and keep their families healthy while staying close to home.

“Our goal is to provide ideas for keeping your home life happy, healthy and safe during these days when we are spending a lot of extra time at home,” said Jennifer Fetter, extension educator, about the “Extension at Home” series. “No matter what the size or location of your home and property, there are lots of options for you to benefit from this free webinar series.”

Webinar topics and links include the following:

–“Gardening for Pollinators.” https://extension.psu.edu/extension-at-home-outdoors-gardening-for-pollinators

–“Water Use Conservation and Testing.” https://extension.psu.edu/extension-at-home-indoors-water-use-conservation-and-testing

–“Homeowner’s Guide to Stormwater.” https://extension.psu.edu/extension-at-home-outdoors-homeowners-guide-to-stormwater

–“Drying and Freezing Foods for Preservation: Strawberries.” https://extension.psu.edu/extension-at-home-indoors-drying-and-freezing-foods-for-preservation-featuring-strawberries

–“Backyard Stream Repair.” https://extension.psu.edu/extension-at-home-outdoors-backyard-stream-repair

–“Pantry Pests and Other Household Pests.” https://extension.psu.edu/extension-at-home-pantry-pests-and-other-household-pests-1

–“Backyard Woods.” https://extension.psu.edu/extension-at-home-outdoors-backyard-woods

–“Keeping Your Home Safe: Radon Awareness and Proper Handling, Storage, and Disposal Household Hazardous Chemicals.” https://extension.psu.edu/extension-at-home-keeping-your-home-safe-from-household-hazards

–“Selecting and Planting Native Trees and Shrubs.” https://extension.psu.edu/extension-at-home-outdoors-selecting-and-planting-native-trees-and-shrubs

–“Canning Foods for Preservation: Strawberry Jam.”  https://extension.psu.edu/extension-at-home-canning-foods-for-preservation-featuring-strawberry-jam

–“Preventing Tick and Mosquito Bites.” https://extension.psu.edu/extension-at-home-preventing-tick-and-mosquito-bites

–“New Opportunities for Getting and Staying Fit.” https://extension.psu.edu/extension-at-home-new-opportunities-for-getting-and-staying-fit

Penn State Extension has a growing portfolio of educational resources for homeowners and families, which can be found by visiting https://extension.psu.edu.

About Penn State Extension

Penn State Extension is dedicated to translating scientific research into real-world applications to drive progress. In support of Penn State’s land-grant mission, extension programs serve individuals, businesses, and communities, while promoting a vibrant food and fiber system, a clean environment, and a healthier population in Pennsylvania and beyond. With support from federal, state and county governments, the organization has a tradition of bringing unbiased information and support to the citizens of Pennsylvania for more than 100 years.

We need your support!

Your contribution makes community media possible.

A donation of any size to your nonprofit media organization supports the future of media access in our community - the things you love, and the places you care about, by the people you know.

Watch BCTV Live