Skip to Content
/ Articles / Arts & Culture /

Pinchas Zukerman Headlines RSO “Violins Of Hope” Concert

by the Reading Symphony Orchestra

Nov 10, 2021
Reading Symphony Orchestra

This Saturday, November 13th at 7:30pm the Reading Symphony Orchestra welcomes legendary violinist Pinchas Zukerman and extraordinary cellist Amanda Forsyth to the Santander Performing Arts Center.

The concert is the definitive culmination of Violins of Hope Reading, which the Reading Symphony Orchestra has proudly co-presented with the Jewish Federation of Reading/Berks. RSO Executive Director David Gross shared, “The RSO is privileged to present a concert that will feature our own musicians performing on the Violins of Hope instruments. This concert is guaranteed to be the perfect combination of incredible artistry, compelling stories, and a powerful musical message of unity.”

The evening’s program begins with reverence, as cellist Forsyth performs Bruch’s Kol Nidrei and Zukerman takes the stage for Bruch’s Violin Concerto No 1. Attendees will feel the passion and power of Mahler as the RSO concludes this concert with his monumental Symphony No. 1, the Titan.

Some precautionary measures will be in effect, with the RSO requiring masks to be worn at all times during this Saturday’s concert.

RSO Music Director Andrew Constantine said, “The Reading Symphony Orchestra’s concert on November 13 will touch each of the musicians’ hearts in a very special way. Being entrusted with bringing the storied and historic instruments of the Violins of Hope back to life through live music is an experience and responsibility for us all to cherish. To be able to do it in partnership with two of the greatest advocates for Violins of Hope adds an extra degree of excitement for us all on stage. Having worked previously with both cellist Amanda Forsyth and the legendary violinist Pinchas Zukerman I know how special it is also for them to be able to share this powerful and meaningful moment.”

The Miami Herald acclaims,” The thing about Pinchas Zukerman is that he keeps getting better,” while the New York Sun describes, “… an aristocrat of the violin. He has a way of paring music down to its essence, with nothing frilly or wasted.”

The 2021-22 Reading Symphony Orchestra season offers six remaining concerts: four Classics performances and two exciting Pops programs with the music of Queen on New Year’s Eve and a spring concert celebrating legendary composer John Williams’ 90th birthday.

For tickets, info, and current health and safety policies, visit

We need your support!

Your contribution makes community media possible.

A donation of any size to your nonprofit media organization supports the future of media access in our community - the things you love, and the places you care about, by the people you know.

Live Streaming