Skip to the content

Nonprofit Celebrates the Power of Pennsylvania Communities

by Pennsylvania Immigration Resource Center

Nonprofit Celebrates the Power of Pennsylvania Communities

The Pennsylvania Immigration Resource Center (PIRC) is holding its 10th annual Light of Liberty Awards Reception to honor community leaders and impact-makers in the region and across the Commonwealth who advanced access to justice for immigrants in 2022 and 2023. The nonprofit is hosting the event on Sept. 20, from 5:30 p.m. to 8:30 p.m., at Heritage Hills Resort in York, PA.

The Light of Liberty is the recognition of individuals and organizations working together to improve communities,” says Andrew Baranoski, PIRC Executive Director.

“The evening is all about celebrating the wins along the way to ensuring due process and dignity for all PA residents, made possible by the power of our community,” adds Liz Miller, PIRC Development Director.

Keynote Speaker: This year, PIRC is pleased to announce keynote speaker Akbar Hossain, Secretary of Policy and Planning for the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. Prior to his appointment to Governor Josh Shapiro’s cabinet, Secretary Hossain served as the Executive Director of the Shapiro-Davis Transition and as Policy Director on the Shapiro for Pennsylvania gubernatorial campaign. His work has been featured on CNN, NPR, Huffington Post, Philadelphia Inquirer, and many other media outlets. Secretary Hossain has a Bachelor’s Degree from Franklin & Marshall College and a Juris Doctor from University of Pennsylvania Law School.

Award Winners: The reception will feature awards presented to the following for their impactful contributions:

1) Law Firm of the Year: Barley Snyder Law Firm, Lancaster
2) Attorneys of the Year: Troutman Pepper Attorneys Anna Gromova, Kaitlin Meola, and Sara Richman
3) Organizational Partner of the Year: Casa San Jose, Pittsburgh
4) Supporter of the Year: Unitarian Universalist Congregation of York, York
5) Interpreters of the Year: Boaz Desir, Peterson Horacius, and Stephanie Rodriguez, York
6) Voice of Courage: Abiodun Isaiah Ayelari
The Light of Liberty Awards Reception event is open to the public. More information can be found at