Skip to the content

Fitts and Kozma Earn Second Team All-Conference Honors

Fitts and Kozma Earn Second Team All-Conference Honors

KUTZTOWN, Pa. – Senior Jenn Fitts and sophomore Angela Kozma of the Kutztown University women’s bowling team were recognized as Second Team All-East Coast Conference (ECC) honorees as announced on March 23.

The Golden Bears competed in the ECC Championships in Port Jefferson, N.Y. last weekend.

It is the third consecutive All-Conference recognition for Fitts, who was named to the First Team in each of the last two seasons. Entering this weekend, Fitts has appeared in all 111 matches for KU this season, and holds a team-high 18.52 frame average. She also maintained a team-high 82.6 filled-frame percentage.

Fitts was tied for 46th out of 174 overall participants at the United States Bowling Congress Individual Sectionals on Mar. 9, with 1,120 points in six baker matches. She received All-Tournament Second Team honors at KU’s Golden Bear Classic, Feb. 11, with a frame average of 18.623, and was named to the All-Tournament Team at KU’s Bowling for a KUre Tournament on Feb. 3.

Kozma received her second straight All-Conference honor, after earning First Team honors as a freshman last season. She appeared in all 111 matches this season and, entering this weekend, has a frame average of 18.30, and a 79.3 filled-frame percentage.

Kozma was named the ECC Bowler of the Week on Nov. 8, and was recognized on the All-Tournament Team at the Bowling for a KUre Tournament, ranking second with a 197.67 average. In KU’s last time out, she recorded a 17.05 frame average in a team-high 124 frames at the USBC Team Sectionals Mar. 11.

2017-18 ECC Award Winners

First Team

Justine Brookover, Lincoln Memorial

Rebecca Gotterbarn, Adelphi

Christine Hansen, Lincoln Memorial

Krysta Peirce, Franklin Pierce

Lena Sorrentino, Adelphi

Second Team

Katelyn LaRocca, Adelphi

Jessica Davies, Franklin Pierce

Skylar McGarrity, Adelphi

Jenn Fitts, Kutztown

Angela Kozma, Kutztown

Bowler of the Year: Rebecca Gotterbarn, Adelphi

Rookie of the Year: Justine Brookover, Lincoln Memorial

Coach of the Year: Dennis Kearney, Adelphi