Skip to Content
/ Articles / Education /

RACC Staff Members Win 2019 National League for Innovation Excellence Awards

by Reading Area Community College

Nov 21, 2019

Reading, PA – Fifteen staff and faculty members of Reading Area Community College are being honored for creating and implementing innovative programs, practices, partnerships, policies, and activities that improve the institution’s ability to serve students and their communities.

“I could not be more proud of the RACC staff and faculty members who have worked so hard to achieve this award. Their dedication to student success and their abilities to motivate and support students in the development of valuable learning experiences continues to inspire me every day,” says RACC President Dr. Susan D. Looney.

Faculty and staff members receiving the award are: Pamela Blakely, Professor, Social Sciences/Human Services; Danelle Bower, Associate Professor, Social Sciences/Human Services; Jodi Corbett, Director of Academic Partnerships and Special Assistant to the President; Robin Eckert, Associate Dean, Social Sciences/Human Services and Foundational Studies; Teri Floyd-Brumm, Associate Professor, Foundational Studies; Michael Gregory, Director of Teaching and Learning; Mary Ellen Heckman, Associate Dean, Library; David Hessen, Director of Marketing and Communications; Nancy Jackson, Associate Professor, Social Sciences/Human Services; Alexis Jardine, Professor, Foundational Studies; Kay Litman, Vice President of Enrollment Management; Maria Mitchell, Dean of Student Affairs; Dolores Peterson, Associate Vice President for Finance and Administrative Services/Controller; Benjamin Rosenberger, Director of Financial Aid/Registrar and Bonnie Spayd, Executive Director of Workforce and Economic Development.

The winning members will be honored at the League for Innovation Conference in March 2020, in Seattle, Washington.

The League’s Innovation of the Year Award was devised as a way to nationally recognize significant innovations at community colleges. These innovations reflect capstone achievements and the continuing renewal of the spirit of innovation and experimentation upon which the League was founded. The award honors faculty, staff, and administrators at member colleges who have created and implemented innovative programs, practices, partnerships, policies, and activities that improve the institution’s ability to serve students and the community.

To learn more about the instructional innovation and student success models at RACC visit

We need your support!

Your contribution makes community media possible.

A donation of any size to your nonprofit media organization supports the future of media access in our community - the things you love, and the places you care about, by the people you know.

Live Streaming